Retail: how Adidas’s online store is a prime example of how we are changing the way we shop (for shoes) PT.1

Today’s post is part one of a  two part story of my personal experience using Adidas’s online store. It’s part of a series of stories about how retail, customer experiences and behaviour is shifting! I hope that you enjoy it 🙂

Retail: how Adidas’s online store is a prime example of how we are changing the way we shop (for shoes) PT.1

Conventional retail

Normally, when one enters a sports store, one is lost with an infinite number of models choices. You will be greeted by a busy sales associate who will fetch the size you request. As a consumer, the rushed atmosphere pushes you to make a quick decision. Sure they have a flexible return policy (for unused items), but how many people actually do it?

 

Source: Pavlov Shoes
Source: Pavlov Shoes

My first online experience with Adidas :

Last year, having recently joined an indoor (turf) soccer league, I realized that my traditional grass cleats were causing me knee pain after games. I started to look at turf specific models. I visited a few specialized stores and couldn’t find a fit and look i wanted. Having previously enjoyed Adidas shoes, I went on their online store. As most millennials driven by price, I found a pair that had great reviews (although the colors were a bit flashy, the but 60% off seemed to make it worth it). I was confronted with a size dilemma.

1-FPP7kdf80Xa6f5oVaQ2BCg

SOURCE:ADIDAS.COM

I called and was immediately assisted and assured; “order 2 sizes, we’ll ship them to you and UPS will pick up the pair that isn’t right, free of charge within 30 days”. Why not!

I got both of my pairs within days. I installed a fluffy carpet with a bean bag in my office weeks prior. For the next few days, i tried on both pairs after-hours on the carpet (so they wouldn’t get dirty) , made my choice and called UPS. I wasn’t even at the office for the pick up. I printed the pre-paid label they emailed me and i left the box at the reception. I received a full refund after 2–3 business days.

Result: i loved my purchase and more importantly my experience suffering no buyers remorse!

Pt. 2 coming shortly 🙂


About us:

incubius: The Power of Collective Minds

incubius is a Think Tank aiming to solve and discuss an array of topics in the World around us. We aim to collectively engage in proposing new solutions and ways of thinking. We are designers, service designers, architects, travellers- DO-ers. We are critical observers of the world around us. We are international.

Ideas and individuals are not enough. It’s the power of the collective minds with the will to change and challenge the status quo what make things happen. Design needs designers but it also needs to expand its horizons to integrate creative people from different domains with a critical eye and passion to makes things better. This richness helps expand the thought process to well beyond that of finesse and functionality. Curious minds welcome!

incubius_footer_1

Leave a comment